5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 16, 2007 2:16 PM by Newsgroup_User

goto scene2 - please help with script!

ulalume Level 1
      Sorry guys, but I am new to Flash and I have a horrible teacher who isn't able to explain this well. I have 2 scenes. I have a button in scene 1 that I would like to link to scene 2. Can anyone please help? I tried several versions gotoandstop ("scene2"); gotoandstop ("2", 1), I just don't know anymore! I am using MX 2004. At school we have Flash 8 and it has a help area for actions, but I can't find it in my MX version (it lets you type in Scene, Frame type -label, number, etc.) Do you know how I can turn this on? Thanks!!
        • 1. Re: goto scene2 - please help with script!
          Level 7
          ulalume,

> Can anyone please help? I tried several versions gotoandstop
          > ("scene2"); gotoandstop ("2", 1), I just don't know anymore!

Your best bet -- and this is going to help you more than your teacher,
          if he or she really is horrible (this will even help you more than Script
          Assist) -- is to roll up your sleeves and brave ... are you ready for it?
          ... the ActionScript 2.0 Language Reference. It's not a perfect document,
          but it's truly the very best place to look first. I don't know why people
          seem to shy away from it. Yes, it's a big huge tome, but it really isn't
          that hard to read once you know a few basics.

Basic tip #1: everything in ActionScript can be described as an object.
          Objects are defined by something called classes, which define an object's
          properties (characteristics), methods (things it can do), and events (things
          it can react to). Whatever you're dealing with, take a breath, stop and
          think, "What sort of object am I dealing with?" In this case, you're
          dealing with a movie clip. Why? Because the main timeline itself is a