11 Replies Latest reply on May 30, 2006 4:31 AM by poonamsheth

Flex/ColdFusion Integration

jfillman Level 1
      I am quite new to Flex and am looking for someone who can point me to a working example or put together a very simple sample project that sends data to a CFC and one that receives data from a CFC. A Flex form would be a perfect example.
        • 1. Re: Flex/ColdFusion Integration
          Simeon
          I recently did a breeze presentation for the BACFUG on this topic that was recorded. Beyond that I posted the code for the example on http://www.flexcf.com which is a new site dedicated to helping cf developers learn flex.

Link to the recording is here http://adobechats.breezecentral.com/p41466198/
          and my blog post with the code is here
          http://www.simb.net/blog/index.cfm/2006/4/19/BACFUG-Presentation--Simple-Flex-2-ColdFusion -Remoting-Example
          • 2. Re: Flex/ColdFusion Integration
            jfillman Level 1
            Is Remoting the only option? What about HTTP or AMF? My assumption is that Remoting and AMF require the Enterprise Data Service add on, which means I have to host the site on my own server? Prefer not to go that route.
            • 3. Re: Flex/ColdFusion Integration
              Simeon Level 1
              Using the RemoteObject tag is using AMF. And yes you can use httpServices as well. But AMF is much more efficient as a transfer protocal then http. Beyond that from cf you can use amf to return cfc objects and have them directly translated to AS object counterparts. This is not available through httpservice.

Enterprise Data Services is not required to use RemoteObject. RemoteObject is avaialable using FlexBuilder or the free sdk. The only services that require EDS are data push and the data syncronization services. But your basic RPC (remote procedure call) methods that are currently available in flex 1.5 are avaiable in the free version of flex 2.0.

Hope that helps.

sim