4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 19, 2015 2:13 AM by Sulaco

Can I use loop_out("cycle",0) on a Mask Path

Sulaco Level 3

I am currently creating an animated Mask Path that I would like to loop using expressions. But when I try to use "loop_out("cycle",0)" I get a "loop is not supported for custom properties" error. After doing some goggling it seems that it is not possible to use the loop function on a Mask Path. At least not in older version of AE, is this still the case in the latest version? If so, is there a way around it? I found someone who made an rather complex expression that simulated the "loop_out("pingpong",0)" that seemed to work, but I need the cycle one. Could anyone come up with an expression that would simulate this? And please keep in mind, I have very little experience when it comes to expressions and frankly math scars me ...

• 1. Re: Can I use loop_out("cycle",0) on a Mask Path
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

No, you cannot use these expressions on masks due to their compound keyframes. Depending on what the mask is actually used for, pre-composing it on a separate layer and using that layer as a matte with time-remapping will work.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Can I use loop_out("cycle",0) on a Mask Path
            Sulaco Level 3

Thanks for your reply Mylenium! I was afraid that was the case. I am not sure if what you suggest will work for me, I don't use AE that regularly so I tend to get a bit rusty on how certain things are done. I will have a look at it. But if anyone has an actual expression that simulates Cycle, don't be afraid to post it .... If all else fails I suppose I can always do copy/paste, but it's a bit awkward since the animation I am tracking is a looping one and it would be so convenient to use an loop expression, makes it easier for me to find the loop points of the animation I am tracking...

• 3. Re: Can I use loop_out("cycle",0) on a Mask Path
              Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP