7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 19, 2015 4:29 PM by Ned Murphy

Referring to MovieClips using an Array

Araly

Hello,

I'm currently working on making a game, but I'm having trouble with switching the movie clip based on which key was pressed. I just started the code so I'm only on the basics at the moment, and keep in mind that I am new to Flash so I apologize for any stupid mistakes.

What I am trying to do is get the character (Shu) to move using WASD, however depending on which direction he goes in, I want the movie clip to change into a different picture of Shu. I'm using three different functions for this:

-moveShu (increases Shu's x & y coords to make him move)

//Move Shu (SF)

function moveShu(): void {

if (dir == "up" && SF.y > 0) {

SF.y -= 3;

}

if (dir == "left" && SF.x > 0) {

SF.x -= 3;

}

if (dir == "down" && SF.y < 400) {

SF.y += 3;

}

if (dir == "right" && SF.x < 550) {

SF.x += 3;

}

}

-dFun (just gives a string of which direction key was pressed, e.g "left", "up")

-uFun (stops the movement when keys are no longer being pressed)

My problem is that if I'm switching the movie clip (and therefore will have a different variable name instead of SF), the moveShu function will no longer work. I considered just removing SF and replacing him with the movie clip I want, then increasing that clip's x or y coords, but then I realized the && SF.y won't work for the new movie clip.

if (dir == "down" && SF.y < 400) {

SF.y += 3;

}

I can't get rid of the SF.y<400 coords since it prevents Shu (or the movie clip I replace him with) from just running off stage, so what I'm thinking now is that I need an array where I can input all the movie clips I want to use, and do:

if (dir == "down" && shuArray[i].y < 400) {

shuArray[i].y += 3;

}

I really don't know how to refer an array's objects without stating the exact one that I want, but I used "i" as a number in previous codes I was taught in class which is why I think arrays might be my answer.