17 Replies Latest reply on Apr 20, 2015 3:50 PM by ssprengel

Missing lens profile and gpu support questions...

Reality Studio LLC

Hi guys, I just bought Lightroom and I'm brand new to this software having previously used After Shot Pro mostly. Two questions for you.

1) Apparently Lightroom now has a lens profile for the Sony FE 24240 lens, but my Lightroom doesn't seem to have it even though I just bought it and double checked that it's updated to the latest software version. I checked in the file folder itself where lens profiles are stored just to be sure and it's just not there, but I'm reading how others have it and are using it just fine. I assume this means that I need a separate tool to update lens profiles, where do I get this tool from? Or do I need to manually add lens profiles for all future lenses, if so where does one download these lens profiles from? I'd prefer to stick to official Adobe profiles rather than any user submitted profiles.

2) How do you enable gpu support? I'm using Lightroom on my laptop which has an NVidia 750m gpu, and while After Shot Pro supports that gpu and runs really fast, I find Lightroom plods along very slowly. I assume that means it either does not support my gpu, or I have to manually enable gpu support myself. If it's the latter, how does one enable gpu support? I searched all around the menu's but can't find where to do this.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Missing lens profile and gpu support questions...
          dj_paige Level 9

2) How do you enable gpu support? I'm using Lightroom on my laptop which has an NVidia 750m gpu, and while After Shot Pro supports that gpu and runs really fast, I find Lightroom plods along very slowly. I assume that means it either does not support my gpu, or I have to manually enable gpu support myself. If it's the latter, how does one enable gpu support? I searched all around the menu's but can't find where to do this.

Lightroom 5 does not use any GPU to speed up operations. You can't enable it.