4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 22, 2015 1:47 PM by Willi Adelberger

Convert fonts to style?

Ambari

I have a book created with multiple chapters. I am using the italicized version of fonts for italics. When I export to eBook, how do I maintain this formatting since there is no way to tag or otherwise demarcate italics in InDesign?

In other words:

<font1.regular>"I told you I <font1.italic>have<font1.regular> to go to this meeting."

In the print version it looks like

"I told you I have to go to this meeting."

But in the ebook version it will look like

"I told you I have to go to this meeting." since it doesn't actually tag the other font as an italic. Right? I've never used InDesign with ebooks before and I know so little I don't even understand what most of the documentation is saying.

• 1. Re: Convert fonts to style?
          TᴀW Adobe Community Professional & MVP

When you export to ePub, there's an option to "preserve local

overrides." If you make sure that's checked, it should preserve your

italics on export.

That said, it would be better to create a character style just for

italics, and apply that to all italics in the book. (And other character

styles for other styling elements such as bold, superscript, etc.)

That way, you'd be avoiding local overrides.

• 2. Re: Convert fonts to style?
            Ambari Level 1

Okay, off to Google "Character Style". Thanks!

• 3. Re: Convert fonts to style?
              Ambari Level 1