8 Replies Latest reply on Apr 22, 2015 1:58 PM by ManiacJoe

Is this an update or what? (5.7)

davidt6610696

I am new to LR and am running 5.7.  I received a notification of an update, but when I click on it, I am taken to what appears to be a sales pitch for LR  CC?  What is going on? Thanks.

• 1. Re: Is this an update or what? (5.7)
          dj_paige Level 9

LIghtroom CC/Lightroom 6 is indeed an upgrade to the software. It was released yesterday (4/21/15). It has major new features. You might want to read up on this and also download and try the 30-day free trial that Adobe offers.

• 2. Re: Is this an update or what? (5.7)
            davidt6610696 Level 1

I do not understand.  I cannot use the cloud due to limited Internet access. An update is by tradition a fix/addition to an existing program, not something that requires a trial?

• 3. Re: Is this an update or what? (5.7)
              dj_paige Level 9

I said "upgrade" not "update" and anyway, I also said it is a new release with new features that requires only limited internet access (for downloading the software and then once a month after that to verify your subscription, it does not require constant or high-speed access)

• 4. Re: Is this an update or what? (5.7)
                davidt6610696 Level 1

My question was not about upgrades -- it was about an update notification that I received.  This was an automatic pop-up and labeled "Lightroom Update Available."  No mention of upgrade and no mention of the cloud.

• 5. Re: Is this an update or what? (5.7)
                  dj_paige Level 9

So are we going to quibble over what word is used? As I stated, this is a major new release with new features that requires a 30-day free trial (or that you pay for it)

• 6. Re: Is this an update or what? (5.7)
                    ManiacJoe Adobe Community Professional

The people that wrote the popup message are playing loose and fast with the terminology.