3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 28, 2015 5:50 AM by [Jongware]

XML to InDesign

kostek47 Level 1

Hello,

I’m completely new in Adobe InDesign domain, so maybe my question will be not enough reasonable. I apologize, if yes. Also, if my problem doesn’t suite this forum, please redirect me to the right one.

We have our content organized as XML documents. The nature of content: source for books and articles. We want to publish this content as PDF documents via InDesign. Scrolling InDesign tutorials I see two possible ways  to do this. First – transform (XSLT) our XML document to IDML format fulfilling required layout. Second – create in InDesign something like a dummy document that keeps layout requirements, then import an XML document, in “merge content” mode, to InDesign, doing previously structure and vocabulary transformation (again XSLT) due to match InDesign’s data representation.

My kind questions: Which way is more sensible? Maybe is a third way, better than two mentioned? If I decided to generate IDML format directly from our native XML, could I find any tools helping me doing this?

I would add, both our content structure and desired layout are not simple. Contrary, they are quite complex.

Thanks in advance,

Konstanty

• 1. Re: XML to InDesign
          MW Design Level 4

Hello Konstanty,

It is really hard to advise without seeing what the XML is structured like and what the presentation of that XML inside of InDesign is desired to be.

For what your needs are as I understand them, and again depending on what the XML looks like and how consitent it is in one document type (book, article), you may be able to skip any transforms and simply import it with mapped styles and have all or the majority of the document(s) formatted. But it really depends on the XML itself and what it should look like in ID once formatted.