5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 30, 2015 9:08 AM by JJMack

Batch image resize/crop

sholtby

Hi

I have a lot of images that need resizing to a specific size (1920x805) and saving out for web (ideally around 200kb max file size) to be used as hero images on a website.

Up until now, I have been doing this manually using the following process:

Create new 1920x805 pixel canvas

Drag image(s) into canvas, scale proportionately and centrally (holding shift + alt) until they fill the canvas

Save for web in jpg format, with a quality value of 30

I am completely new to Photoshop Scripts and Actions. Does anyone know if it is possible to automate this process using either a script or an action or maybe a tool/plugin?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Batch image resize/crop
          Chuck Uebele Adobe Community Professional & MVP

If you want to manually crop each image for the best crop, then I would make an action that crops to that size, no need to drag it to another canvas and scale. Then run run image processor with that action to save as jpg with the quality you want.

• 2. Re: Batch image resize/crop
            JJMack Most Valuable Participant

It is easy to do using a script from my Photo Collage Toolkit.   You just need to create a single image Collage template PSD file.

The PSD must Have a background layer that is 1920x805 pixels any resolution.  Resolution is meaningless on the web.

The PSD needs a Alpha Channel Named "Image 1" you create this using Ctrl+A Select all then menu Select>save selection>new channel "Image 1"