4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 30, 2015 7:24 AM by jason102

Right side of placed images being cut off when exported to PDF

jason102 Level 1

Hi all,

I'm a beginner still trying to wrap my mind around InDesign and all its features, and have encountered a problem with exporting to PDF. The right-most 1-4 pixels are cut off! I think my problem may be related to what was discussed in this thread:

Indesign, Image problem with PDF export... right side cut-off...

But my issue has nothing to do with Visio. I'm simply placing PNG and JPG files that have already been created and are stored locally on my computer. I found that the only way to solve this is to add a few pixel columns of white/empty space to my images so the right side frame line in the images (created by Adobe Illustrator) appear.

Having to alter my images first before placing them in InDesign is obviously not the best or the correct solution.

Does anyone have any ideas what might be causing this problem and how to correct it? Maybe there's a setting somewhere for image frames that needs to be adjusted?

• 1. Re: Right side of placed images being cut off when exported to PDF
          Willi Adelberger Most Valuable Participant
          1. What version do you use?
          2. What OS? Probably Windows, because you talk about Visio, but which version?
          3. Where do the graphic come from?
          4. Why did you choose that type of graphic format? Why PNG? PNG does not support colormanagement, at least not reliable for InDesign. JPG does not support transparency. If the files come from Photoshop use PSD or PDF/PDP, if teh files come from Illustrator use AI or PDF/X-4:2010.
          5. A screenshot in a readable size would be helpful.
          • 2. Re: Right side of placed images being cut off when exported to PDF
            jason102 Level 1

Hello again Willi,

1. I'm using CS6 Version 8.0