No, you can delete the older versions.
If you update to a newer version, Lightroom will create a new catalogue for this. For safety you can backup the Lr4 and Lr5 catalogue.
Many thanks - I did move the catalogue and back-ups prior to downloading/running the LR6 upgrade. That helped