7 Replies Latest reply on May 3, 2015 6:33 AM by D.A.R

Backing up external drives and keeping the LR catalogue connection

Alison Petty Photography

Hi there

I'm a little new to this community but so very glad to have found you all.

I am currently using Lightroom 4 and have a question about backing up external drives and maintaining the catalogue should the primary drive fail.

At the moment, I have a system where my archives are stored on one external drive and I have another (same sized) drive that I want to have as a clone.

I'm still learning about catalogues and trying to get my head around how this all works. Hoping someone can tell me though the best way to keep a second copy of the first drive so that if that one fails, I can plug in the second and carry on working as before.

I was wondering if using Time Machine to back it up would work sufficiently? I know it would back-up the first drive but I don't know how the catalogue would then connect to the second drive should it ever need to.

Really hope you can help.

Many thanks in advance...

~Ally~

• 1. Re: Backing up external drives and keeping the LR catalogue connection
          D.A.R Adobe Community Professional

You say your "Archives" are on the external drive.

Do you actually mean your image files that you are working with?

Where is your Lightroom Catalog file? By default its in the Pictures or My Pictures(PC) folder on your working OS drive.

Assuming default setup for catalog, it will track your images on the "Archive" drive. When that drive is backed up, by either dragging and dropping or using backup software only the images are backed up. Should your Archive drive fail it will not affect Lightroom as that is a database on your OS drive. You would simply connect the backup drive to your computer and use Lightroom to find the missing folders. Finding the top level folder should be sufficient.

• 2. Re: Backing up external drives and keeping the LR catalogue connection