3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 2, 2015 8:38 PM by A.T. Romano

Why do my h.264 videos crash when editing?

hopeless nerd

I bought Bandicam but I'm not certain it's that as much as it's the H.264 codec that Adobe Premiere Elements 8 doesn't like.  The recorded clips cause Adobe to crash as soon as I try to do anything with the file after importing it. 

I've read somewhere that the Adobe needs constant bit rate video and indeed when I switched Bandicam over to MotionJPEG mode, the resulting video doesn't crash Adobe, but that import video isn't as good in quality either.

I came across this support doc https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop-elements/kb/supported-file-formats-premiere-elements.htm l that shows that Elements can handle H.264 imports, but doesn't really say which versions.  Is it my version 8 that doesn't support H.264 but later versions do?

I'm a complete novice to video editing and it seems I have to fix this under the hood issue before I can even get going.  Help! 

• 1. Re: Why do my h.264 videos crash when editing?
          A.T. Romano Level 7

hln

On what computer operating system is your Premiere Elements 8 running?

Now the usual drive for Premiere Elements 8 users:

1. Are you working from the 8.0.1 Update of the program?

2. Do you have the automatic background and AutoAnalzyer features of the program turned off?

3. Does the problem persist with and without the antivirus and firewall(s) disabled?

What is the file extension that goes with the H.264 video compression?

What did you switch to: MotionJPEG.avi? If so, when you did that did you take in consideration for bitrate? The MotionJPEG video codec is one of the more problematic video codecs for Premiere Elements.

Xvid.avi or AVCHD.avi or H.264.avi should not be used with Premiere Elements...bad news.