18 Replies Latest reply on May 7, 2015 9:06 AM by Szalam

After Effects preview help

philip242

I'm struggling to understand how my AE play and preview performance is so bad. I've seen the generic posts on AE performance but I'm wondering if I'm doing something pathologically wrong here given the severity of the problem.

I'm new to AE on the Mac, I used it some on the PC. I have a new iMac 5k 4GHz w/ 32GB RAM. I'm running After Effects CC 2014. I've loaded in a 21 second 1920x1080 @60Hz clip. I've not touched anything beyond loading in the clip, not created any content at all, yet it plays back with RAM preview at 10Hz.

I set the image preview size to custom 25x25 pixels, so the image I'm looking at is something you might see on an old Commodore 64:

Screen Shot 2015-05-04 at 8.46.30 PM.png

And it still only goes 30Hz.

Is there some default setting that could be sinking my performance? Or is 1920x1080@60 just not going to play back?

• 1. Re: After Effects preview help
          imeilfx Adobe Community Professional

It should playback correctly but to say what could be issue with your playback please send us some more specs:

- how many discs you have on your comp?

- is any of your disc SSD or just Hdd

- if you have only HDDs tell us if you have any other software that is reading/writing on that disc when you try to play that clip on AE

In my opinion in your case the HDD will be that bottle neck that slow down everything.

• 2. Re: After Effects preview help
            Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

There are several bugs in the respective graphics drivers for 5k Macs that drag down performance of Adobe products. this also affects Photoshop, Lightroom and Illustrator even.

Mylenium

• 3. Re: After Effects preview help
              Andrew Yoole MVP & Adobe Community Professional

As Mylenium suggests, this may be an issue related to the 5K display.