4 Replies Latest reply on May 8, 2015 4:47 AM by dj_paige

Duplicates in Lr 6 Catalog??

robertf71883576

I'm new to Lightroom 6, in fact I'm still using the 30 day free trial.  Suddenly I notice that ALL of my photos in the Catalog ("All Photographs") have been duplicated.  So, now I have two of everything.

Any thoughts on how this might have happened?  I'd like to fix the problem, but mostly, I'd like to understand why it happened so I can avoid it next time.

Thanks for your help,

Bob

[Moved from the generic Cloud forum to the specific Program forum... Mod]

• 2. Re: Duplicates in Lr 6 Catalog??
          ManiacJoe Adobe Community Professional

In the Library module, if you right-click on one of the duplicates and select "goto location in Explorer/Finder", is the file duplicated on the disk?

If the duplicates are just in the catalog, is there any chance that you had a bunch of images highlighted and did a "create virtual copy" ???

• 3. Re: Duplicates in Lr 6 Catalog??
            robertf71883576 Level 1

On my iMac, if I right click on one of the duplicates, I do not see the option to select "go to location in Explorer/Finder".  I should mention that the duplicates all seem to have the "!" mark on them.

I did select "Show in Finder" and a pop up window revealed “DSCF1020.jpg” could not be used because the original file could not be found. Would you like to locate it?".  When I click on the "Locate" button it takes me to the Desktop and selects a folder, but I don't see this file anywhere.

I think I may have moved some of the original images before this started...but I don't understand why the duplicates were created.

I'm very new to Lr, so forgive my stupidity.  I don't have a huge number of pics in the catalog yet because I am trying to learn how to manage workflow and keep this organized before I do any volume of work.  So, this is really a learning experience.

• 4. Re: Duplicates in Lr 6 Catalog??
              dj_paige Level 9