2 Replies Latest reply on May 8, 2015 8:47 PM by agneslth

Is it possible to retain all the brush strokes, textures and layers from Adobe iPad drawing apps to illustrator CC?

agneslth

Firstly I would like to say "Hi" to everybody, for I am a completely newbie in this forum !

As I am more and more in love with the Adobe drawing apps on my iPad air 2, and as a Adobe illustrator CS6 user, I am seriously considering subscribing the illustrator CC simply for the full assess to all my iPad drawings in vector format instead of getting jpg or png files.

Is it possible to retain all the brush strokes, textures and layers EXACTLY as the original drawing from Adobe drawing apps, such as Adobe Draw or Sketch from my iPad to illustrator CC?

I have actually downloaded the trial version of illustrator CC, I noticed the work flow is a bit different from CS6 (with CS6, I use image trace) and I can send the drawing directly to illustrator CC, yet I still got a png / jpg drawing which I need to work further with the following steps in order to turn it to a true vector format:

Object> sketch and Line art > expand path

and of course all the layers are gone with the above method. And all the original textures and brush strokes are replaced with control line like images...

And when I open a file in Photoshop sketch a message "version 2 of the adobe photoshop sketch file format is not supported in this version of adobe illustrator" pops up and the file though can open but was in jpg / png?

Have I missed anything? Or it is becasue I do not have a full CC subscription? :/

• 1. Re: Is it possible to retain all the brush strokes, textures and layers from Adobe iPad drawing apps to illustrator CC?
          KoMaruyama Adobe Community Professional

Easy question first:

The error message doesn't appear to mean anything - just click "OK" and it works fine for me.

As for the conversion of the brushes and artwork, it's a little more difficult.