2 Replies Latest reply on May 8, 2015 4:51 PM by southernclub

Would you guys evaluate a new computer build?

southernclub

Hello everyone.  I'm far from an expert on computers so I hope you can help me determine what I need  for Premiere Pro.  I've looked at the tweakers page and I'm still mystified.

I edit one track 4k video in Premiere.  Then, export either a 4k or hd .h264 file which is then scaled down and compressed for the web in Sorenson Squeeze.  What I would like is a machine that can do my encoding fast and with very good result.

These are the specs on a computer I'm looking at:

Processor   Xeon E5-2687W V3 3.1GHz Ten Core 25MB 160W
      Ram         64GB DDR4-2133 REG ECC (4x16GB)

Video Card  GeForce GTX Titan X 12GB

Samsung 850 pro 512 GB SSD for OS

Samsung 850 pro,  smaller than above,  for other drives which will possibly be in a RAID.

1000 w power supply.

Mainly,  I'm not sure about the processor.  I've read that an i7 would be better but I think that was info from before this processor came out.

Your thoughts are much appreciated.

• 1. Re: Would you guys evaluate a new computer build?
          cc_merchant Level 4