13 Replies Latest reply on May 19, 2015 7:36 PM by crpd

Need help with Lumix DMC ZS40

crpd

Just got a Lumix DMC ZS40 and having a problem with imported images. All end up being extremely noisy, dull and somewhat blurry. I am fairly new to Lightroom so not sure if I need to create some preset for processing during the import or anything else? I have done tests with raw and jpegs, different situations, lighting etc. still the same results. Looking at the same images with the Panasonic importing software, all these photos looked great.

Any help would be appreciated...

• 1. Re: Need help with Lumix DMC ZS40
          Steven L. Gotz Level 5

Keep in mind that RAW images do not have the settings from the camera embedded like a JPG does.

If you shoot RAW + JPG do the JPG images look OK in Lightroom? If so, then you just need to find the adjustments that get your RAW images to look more like the JPG, and then apply those settings to every image upon import by using a preset.

If it is something else, please provide your workflow so that we may spot a flaw if one exists. What format are you shooting, and how are you importing the images?

• 2. Re: Need help with Lumix DMC ZS40
            crpd Level 1

Both jpeg and RAW (RW2) look wrong in lightroom. With some adjustments to the raw images I can improve them somewhat but not anywhere near good. As to the importing I am doing nothing other than select and import, no adjustments or any other process...

• 3. Re: Need help with Lumix DMC ZS40
              Steven L. Gotz Level 5

If you wish, you can shoot something with RAW + JPG and post them where I can download them and I will take a look. Pick one where the JPG looks good to you in other applications.

You can use DropBox if you want, or there are a number of other ways to send files.

I would be happy to take a look for you. I use a Lumix DMC-GH3 and I have no issues with Lightroom. So maybe I can help straighten things out of you.