3 Replies Latest reply on May 12, 2015 5:43 AM by imeilfx

Camera Movement In After Affects Problem. Help/Advice please?

R.Aman Level 1

Hi, I am new to after affects and have come into a problem which I cannot resolve.

I have imported a background and a also a character to learn camera movements etc. I have put the background into a composition and also the character. I then highlighted both and put into pre comp. Then I go composition settings and do 1280 by 720. Also tried this without doing composition settings, still the camera does not move. Also tried views to get the camera to move but nothing.

Now this is where the problem begins, when I move the cursor the background moves wherever i take mouse curser. So for example my character is on the left side of my background, I want to move to the right of the background, but instead it moves the actual background with the character. I watched tutorials on adobe tutorial page, and even when the person moves his mouse, say to the left of his scene, the camera moves, but mine does not. If 3D box is suppose to be on already tried that, It is already on active camera also.

Also even when I go to the camera and go to position or point of interest and move it left and right nothing happens. The camera does not move at all on the background, or the character everything stays same position.

I don't understand how to fix this been trying for hours. Any help would be appreciated thanks.

• 1. Re: Camera Movement In After Affects Problem. Help/Advice please?
          imeilfx Adobe Community Professional

Ok so... for sure you have to look for some basic courses on Adobe After Effects but for now:

1. If you have your background and character in composition do you have them as 3D layers?

1.jpg

2. Did you moved those layers (character and bacground) on Z axes?

2.jpg