3 Replies Latest reply on May 11, 2015 11:59 PM by KoMaruyama

Adobe After Effects CC / Media Encoder Dark Exports .H264

KillerCatnip

I've finally hit a wall and decided to reach out to the forums. Any help is going to be appreciated. I'm still new to video, codecs, AE exporting, AME exporting, but I am rather tech savvy and a quick learner. It's a bit of an explanation, but here we go. I have gotten into Time Lapse Photography, and I use After Effects to assemble the actual lapse its, amongst other things (stabilisation/deflickering etc). I used to use AE CS5, but with CC it removed the .h264 codec, and now I am forced to use Adobe Media Encoder to export as .h264 via the link between apps. So my steps are as follows;

Take in RAW.
      Import to Lightroom, edit RAW.
      Export as sRGB.
      Import as sequence in AE.
      Interpret footage, adjust framerate to 23.976.
      Do adjustments in AE.
      Render out via AME/AE link.

My issue is, in Lightroom, they look great, as do the JPEG exports [they're visually identical]. I throw them into AE, and they've become more saturated, the shadows especially (they become almost black black). And rendering out of AME, it's the same result, an over saturated shadows time lapse video.

I have tried;

Exporting out of LR as AdobeRGB 1998. (Most accurate shadow representation, but loss of saturation on everything else)
      Exporting out of LR as sRGB. (Most accurate colours, but shadows are deeply saturated)
      Exporting out of LR as ProPhoto RGB. (All around flat colour and shadows).
      I've tried switching in Project settings of AE from 8bpc, to 16, to 32. I've tried also;

Enabling Blend Colours Using 1.0 Gamma.
      Match Legacy AE QuickTime Gamma Adjustments

Changing work spaces from none to;

AdobeRGB 1998.
      sRGB IEC61966-21.
      Monitor color calibration ICC profile.