10 Replies Latest reply on May 22, 2015 12:17 PM by johnrellis

Lightroom Picks Wrong Keyword from Keyword List Hierachy

michaelh13959890

I have a keyword list that I have imported into Lightroom.

I am currently keywording a photo of fresh ripe peas so I type in 'ripe' in 'Enter Keywords'.

I am presented with 2 options: 'Ripe' (a place in East Sussex) and 'ripe' (listed under Concepts). Whichever of the two I choose, Lightroom adds the keywords 'Ripe, East Sussex, England'. This is obviously not what I want.

Is this a bug in Lightroom?

I am a Lightroom newbie so be patient with me!

Cheers,

Mike.

• 1. Re: Lightroom Picks Wrong Keyword from Keyword List Hierachy
          johnrellis Most Valuable Participant

Yes, it's a bug -- I'll file a bug report.

You can work around this in two ways:

1. Capitalize the Concepts > ripe keyword by double-clicking it in the Keyword List pane and changing it to "Ripe".  Now when you start typing "ripe" in the Keywording panel, you'll be presented with two options:

Screen Shot 2015-05-17 at 4.18.22 PM.png

LR is supposed to always use the fully qualified version of a hierarchical keyword when there is more than one keyword with the same leaf name, but it's clearly getting confused by the different cases "Ripe" and "ripe".

2. Type the qualified versions of the keywords in the Keywording panel: "ripe < concepts" or "ripe < east sussex".  The disadvantage of this option is that LR won't show you the parents of the keywords in the Keywording panels as it should (and as it will with option 1).

• 3. Re: Lightroom Picks Wrong Keyword from Keyword List Hierachy
            michaelh13959890 Level 1

Thanks for this John. I'm amazed I've managed to find a bug after 3 weeks of use in software Adobe has been developing for the last 10 years! Glad to help though and I've +1'd the bug on Get Satisfaction.

A couple more things: