13 Replies Latest reply on May 19, 2015 7:17 AM by alan092349

combining lightroom 5 and lightroom cc files?

alan092349

I have been using Lightroom 5 for several years.  I recently paid the $10/mo. and upgraded to Lightroom CC.  After I downloaded Lightroom CC I did use use Lightroom 5 to work on some photos.  These files do not appear to be in my Lightroom CC files.  I would prefer to just have Lightroom CC running on my computer--don't really see any advantage to have both applications available.  How can I have Lightroom CC be my only running version on my computer but see all of the photos?  Do I have to uninstall Lightroom CC and then reinstall it?  Can I do that and is it easy or do I screw up my recent purchase?

• 1. Re: combining lightroom 5 and lightroom cc files?
          Just Shoot Me Adobe Community Professional

This may be a bit clunky and there might be a better way. Make sure LR 6 is shut down and Delete the LR 6 catalog. It is named Adobe Lightroom Catalog.lrcat. Next time you start LR 6/CC it will want to upgrade your LR 5 catalog and will include the edits you have done on those images in LR 5.

But if you had used LR 6 to edit any other images those edits might be lost if you haven't check the option to store edits, Write edits, to a XMP file. Without that option checked all edits are stored in the catalog file.

• 2. Re: combining lightroom 5 and lightroom cc files?
            Steve House Level 1

When you install LRCC it converts a COPY of your existing LR5 catalog but does not delete the original.  It also leaves LR5 installed and active so you can run either one.  If you then bring in new files or edit existing files using LR5, it does NOT automatically update the LR6/CC copy of the catalog with the new info.  Once you're satisfied that LR6/CC installed properly and the catalog converted as it should, uninstall LR5 and do all your new work, whether new shoots or further edits on older work, in the new version.