4 Replies Latest reply on May 26, 2015 7:50 AM by rob day

Master Page Issues: folios and guides

SCNav

I am having two issues with shuffling pages between documents. I design a 300+ page catalog, and have to revisit it twice a year. Which means twice a year I'm having to manually fix these two issues . . . not a good use of time. Any tips are appreciated.

Since these both address master pages, I'm including a screen shot showing how I have them set up. I have a facing page "master spread" set up with left and right master pages assigned to that master spread.

Folio Issue

I have folios set up on my master pages. They are black, so when the folio goes over a dark image, I unlock it on the spread itself and turn it white. However, when I shuffle the pages between documents, the white folio stays, but the black one from the master page gets added back on. So I end up having to go through each page and delete the black folio. I suppose a work around would be setting up two master pages (one with white folios and one with black), but I'm wondering if there is any other solution. Note, the folios are on their own layer — and I've tried this with that layer locked and unlocked. Same problem either way.

Guides Issue

Again, this issue arrises when I shuffle spreads between documents (but it is not a problem when I move spreads within a document). My left and right pages have different guides due to margins and such. When I move a spread from one document to another, both the left and right page of the spread end up having the right page guides. I have to manually reassign each left page to have the left page guides.

Thank you for your help!

• 1. Re: Master Page Issues: folios and guides
          SCNav Level 1

Here is a screen shot of the document set up.

Also worth mentioning . . . when I have the issue with the guides, the guides actually stay correct. But the margins (the purple guides on the screen shot) shift to both be the right page margins.