5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 8, 2016 3:39 AM by isaguclu

Why is Fireworks CS6 (CC) running so slow?

JeffreyDBrown Level 1

I have a complete subscription to Creative Cloud. I've been using Fireworks for 10 years. I'm still using it. Within the last 6 months, the application has slowed WAY down and even on simple things like selecting text or object it waits, often goes to "not responding" for a moment and then selects. The whole program runs like this. Not the same with the other apps. Nothing significant has changed on my system during the last year. Machine is only a year old, running Win 7. At first it ran quite well.

Any clues? Would sure be great if Adobe would speak up on this... there's nothing. There's not even a Fireworks forum anymore... And it doesn't look like you can get phone or email support.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Why is Fireworks CS6 (CC) running so slow?
          Atul_Saini Adobe Employee

Moving the discussion to Fireworks

• 2. Re: Why is Fireworks CS6 (CC) running so slow?
            Herbert2001 Level 4

JeffreyDBrown wrote:

Any clues? Would sure be great if Adobe would speak up on this... there's nothing. There's not even a Fireworks forum anymore... And it doesn't look like you can get phone or email support.

Thanks!

Adobe will not respond to any questions or issues surrounding Fireworks, because its development was halted two years ago, and support ended a couple of months later.

It could very well be that updates to Windows 7 are interfering with Fireworks in some way. Who knows? Fact is that we can expect FW to run into compatibility issues sooner or later, and Adobe is not going to do anything about it, since the product is dead in the water.

A shame, indeed.

In the meantime: have you tried re-installing Fireworks? Are you using styles, symbols, pages and states? This will also break and slow down FW. Fireworks is, unfortunately, a bug-ridden application, with no hope of seeing fixes. :-(