7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 15, 2015 1:58 PM by johnrellis

Keeping image file location relative to "lightroom catalogue"

CalgaryPix

This is a suggestion for future Lightroom versions.

I'm a photographer who usually works on location doing assignment based sessions. I shoot tethered to my laptop. I have individual catalogues for each session.

Here's the issue, I come home, my laptop doesn't have nearly the room I need to keep more than a few sessions on - so I transfer them to a bigger computer for archiving and, if needed, further work. I also occasionally have a third party do my retouching. When moving the catalogues and files from machine to machine of course it breaks the connections and I have to "find" the images. Not a big issue, but a pain in the butt.

What if the links to files were similar to html pages where the link is relative to the page (ie index.http://mysite.com/index.html and the images can be in /imagefolder/image1.jpg - if you move the site to a different server it keeps the link because the link is relative to index.html not relative to http://mysite.com/index.html

This would prevent catalogues from loosing their links when moving to new machines.

It would also all preset file saving locations to be with the catalogue instead of in a general folder (which again would save me a lot of time over the year not having to 'choose' the location each job I do.

I'm pretty sure there's lots of photographers who work the same way and would find this very handy, along with people who are just updating their computers to newer machines.

• 1. Re: Keeping image file location relative to "lightroom catalogue"
          johnrellis Most Valuable Participant

After you move a catalog to a new machine, are you doing Library > Find All Missing Photos or right-clicking just one folder in the Folders pane and doing Find Missing Folder?  In general, the latter is much faster than using Library > Find All Missing Photos.