18 Replies Latest reply on May 26, 2015 6:28 PM by Arcgisfan

Need assistance with button scripting!

Arcgisfan

I believe my question to be an easy one but I am a noob at scripting. I have buttons all over my project and what I want is when a user clicks on one of the buttons for the rollover to pop up and stay up, then if the user clicks outside of the area the rollover to go away.

Can anyone tell me the code for this? Or a way to find out the code? Thanks a bunch!

• 1. Re: Need assistance with button scripting!
          robdillon Most Valuable Participant

What is the rollover? Is this part of the button itself, as in the selected state of the button? Or is this something in addition to the button itself? If it is separate, does only one show at a time? Where is the user clicking that is outside the area? Is it not on that same button? Is it on another button? Can you clarify or show an example of what you have in mind?

• 2. Re: Need assistance with button scripting!
            Arcgisfan Level 1

Basically, I want the little rollover on this image http://i.imgur.com/7Jvz5rH.png to pop up and stay up when the icons (poke'balls) on the map is clicked. I do not mean the map to pop up but the little box to the right of the map to pop up when the buttons (Poke'ball icons) on the map are clicked.

What I desire to know is what is the code that allows me to do that. via scripting. All of the icons and the rollover windows have instance names.

Here is my code.

import flash.events.MouseEvent;

stop();

Amelia.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, Amelia_Infoclick);

function Amelia(event:MouseEvent):void

{

I need to know what goes here. I know it is the instance name of the window but what is the code.

}

Thanks!

• 3. Re: Need assistance with button scripting!

OK. There are three different ways that you can make something "appear" on the stage.

1. You can change the "visible" property.

2. You can change the "alpha" property.