6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 30, 2015 7:41 AM by smartenergy

nokia lumia 1020 occasional error when importing DNG

olesn

I am increasingly experiensing errors when processing some, but not all, DNG from the Lumia 1020 to LR.  All DNGs are imported without problem an photos are added to the library with original preview and metadata. However, when LR tries to build new previews of all imported images (I guess) some of the photos cannot be processed.

Initial troubleshooting shows that the photos with this error do have a smaller file size than those working, but only approx. 1 kB out of a total of 42 MB. i have no knowledge of the DNG fike structure to start debuggong what is missing.

I recently upgraded from LR4 to LR6, without seeing any change in behaviour, and since this have appeared recently it is naturally to think the change lies in the DNG generation on the Windows Phone. Still, in addition to the phone itself, I have tried a third party image viewer that was able to process the DNG, which LR will not.

So, the question is if this is an error on the phone, i.e. DNG file, or could it be the Adobe Raw Convertor DNG processing? I have not found a solution to this problem online, but I would be surprised if I am the only one that have encountered this problem.

• 1. Re: nokia lumia 1020 occasional error when importing DNG
          ccastleb Adobe Employee

Hi,

We are not aware of any issues with the Lumia's DNG output.

Would it be possible to post a copy both a working and non-working image to a file share (e.g. Dropbox) and share the link so we can take a look internally?

If this is a bug in how DNGs are being written from the phone, we may be able to provide some information for you to share with Nokia.

Thanks,

- Chris

• 2. Re: nokia lumia 1020 occasional error when importing DNG
            olesn Level 1

Thanks for looking into this. Hope this link works. One photo that is processed correctly and one that gives an error.