0 Replies Latest reply on May 26, 2015 10:56 PM by Ichabodcole

Proposal for a better way to integrate Edge Animations with modern dev workflows and SPAs.

Ichabodcole

I'm not sure if this is the appropriate place to make this request, but here it goes.

I am a web developer using a modern front-end stack consisting of gulp and browserify, with frameworks like angular / react, etc, and often building single page apps where all the code is minimized and concatenated. I would like to be able to use Edge animations in my projects in an easy and dev friendly manner, but the current loading process and exports that are created when publishing for the web are frankly not up to the task. I would like to propose that in addition to the current web export option there would be an advanced export option, and some additional API methods in the runtime as listed below.

1. The Edge Animate run-time should use a UMD wrapper to make the AdobeEdge object accessible via CommonJs, AMD, es6 modules or the window object if necessary (and ideally registered on npm and bower).

2. The animation definition code should also be exported using a UMD wrapper, and exclude the AdobeEdge.registerCompositionDefn call, which could later be explicitly called by the developer if necessary.

3. A developer should be able to add compositions directly to the AdobeEdge composition array without the runtime adding scripts to the head tag. Ideally this method would also allow the developer to add animation definition objects in the same call.

4. After adding a composition and animation definition a developer should be able to explicitly initialize the composition on a dom element. Initializing the composition would start the actual dom creation and manipulation, and should fire a callback or promise after the dom elements have been added and the composition is ready to play / be interacted with.