31 Replies Latest reply on May 28, 2015 1:41 PM by rob day

Part of my Black Text Looks White - Why?

4ndroid

Hi, I'm new to InDesign, but I've been working on an ad for my employer. (Any feedback is welcomed!)

I'm wondering why the text in the logo, which is from .psd, shows up somewhat cutoff, and white. It looks solid and black at the top and bottom of characters within indesign.

I'll upload the exported .pdf I'm referencing, as well as the .indd file.

Thanks for any help/suggestions! Glad to be into Adobe CC finally.

Adobe Creative Cloud

Adobe Creative Cloud

• 1. Re: Part of my Black Text Looks White - Why?
          Willi Adelberger Most Valuable Participant
          1. You should NEVER create the text in Photoshop, make it in InDesign.
          2. You should always design with a distance to the cropping frame!
          3. You will need to add a bleed for printing.
          4. You should not use the logo as PNG, never use PNG for print, use AI instead.
          5. The huge black letters should not be CMYK-Black with 300%, it should be only K
          6. Use Paragraph and Character Styles, no text without style!
          7. Use Object Styles for every frame and image.
          8. But the text shows up as in InDesign
          • 2. Re: Part of my Black Text Looks White - Why?
            4ndroid Level 1

Thanks for these comments Willi, I am very new. My issue is that I did not create the logo, and I am using it from a branding package that was given to me, and my only choice of file was .psd.

Could you please provide some more details on #3, #6, and #7? I would appreciate it.

Thanks again for the quick help.

• 3. Re: Part of my Black Text Looks White - Why?

When you design a page up to the edge you have to extend everything some mm outside the page. You have to set up your document with a bleed, new document or File > Document setup, click on more options.