14 Replies Latest reply on Jan 8, 2007 6:37 AM by DazFaz

Newbie question: script for interval pause between loops

Mosh
      I'm a graphic designer, newbie to Flash who knows only the basics from Action scripting. I want an animation to reach the end, wait "frozen" on the last frame for an amount of seconds I specify and then play from the start. However, when my animation reaches the end, it replays without waiting (logically, since I have not introduced a time interval script). How can I specify this time interval? Which script to use and on which frame should I place it?

Thanks in advance for your help
        • 1. Re: Newbie question: script for interval pause between loops
          arunbe Level 1
          Look about the setInterval function.
          • 2. Re: Newbie question: script for interval pause between loops
            DazFaz Level 1
            Hi Mosh,

Place this script on the very first frame of your animation on the main time line:
            • 3. Re: Newbie question: script for interval pause between loops
              DazFaz Level 1
              then on the very last frame, where you want to pause to happen, put this script:
              • 4. Re: Newbie question: script for interval pause between loops
                Mosh Level 1
                DazFaz,

I tried your script. No errors, but the resulting animation didn't change.
                My first frame (main timeline) looks like this:
                • 5. Re: Newbie question: script for interval pause between loops
                  Mosh Level 1
                  ...and my last frame on the main timeline looks now like this. Perhaps I should delete the Play and Stop lines that were there from the beginning?
                  • 6. Re: Newbie question: script for interval pause between loops
                    Mosh Level 1
                    arunbe: You are not connected right now to your messenger... Have you got ten minutes for a quick guided tour? : )