4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 3, 2015 1:27 PM by Szalam

Video is appearing as a black screen after being rendered

lukep86510162

Hi Everyone,

I am new to After Effects but have made my first video. Everything within after effects works as it should and the RAM preview renders the video as it should. After I add it to the media encoder queue and render though it becomes a black video but there sound plays?

I don't see where i'm going wrong?

Thanks

• 1. Re: Video is appearing as a black screen after being rendered
          Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Luke Potter wrote:

I don't see where i'm going wrong?

Neither do we without more information. FAQ: What information should I provide?

Some screenshots might help. Your timeline. Your render settings, your output module settings, your composition settings.

As someone new to AE, you should really start with some basic, foundational resources. If you don't, you'll end up with problems like this. This page contains a whole set of resources specifically designed to help a newcomer get started right. AND IT'S FREE! It covers things like rendering.

• 2. Re: Video is appearing as a black screen after being rendered
            lukep86510162 Level 1

Hi Szalam,

Apologies see below!

• What exact version of After Effects? - After effects CC 2014.0.2 (13.2)
            • Have you installed the recent updates? (If not, you should. They fix a lot of problems.) - Yes
            • What operating system? - Windows 7
            • What were you doing when the problem occurred? What is the exact sequence of steps that you are taking? - File > Export > Add to Adobe Media Encoder Queue > Render
            • Has this ever worked before? If this worked before by doesn't work now, what has changed on your computer in the intervening time? - First time using the application on new computer