6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 5, 2015 3:25 PM by Dave LaRonde

I am a Beginner. How do I import a map from MS Paint of my house that I want to create a projection for?

barrym9057

I am wanting to create a Christmas video.  I was told by someone to create a map of my house using Microsoft Paint.  Then I could import the map into graphics software, add videos, animated graphics, etc. that could then be projected onto my house.  I don't know if AE is the right package so I have it as a trial.  I was hoping that I could import a video and then "snap" it into a section of the map, I can't see how to do that and alter the shapes to fit the angles of my house.

• 1. Re: I am a Beginner. How do I import a map from MS Paint of my house that I want to create a projection for?
          Dave LaRonde Level 6

Before you jump in, do this first -- know anyone with a projector?  Borrow it for a night and see how it's going to look.  Any image will do....

• 2. Re: I am a Beginner. How do I import a map from MS Paint of my house that I want to create a projection for?
            barrym9057 Level 1

I have done that.  The short throw projectors do a really nice job.  It's a lot easier than trying to string lights on the house...

• 3. Re: I am a Beginner. How do I import a map from MS Paint of my house that I want to create a projection for?
              Dave LaRonde Level 6

I've been mulling this over, and if it were MY house, I'd re-think hangin' them lights in a heartbeat.... and I detest ladder work in November!

Here's what I took into consideration:

• Each side of the house -- plus the niche where the porch might be on the front -- has to be treated as a separate planar surface...and each surface would probably have different proportions to the others.