14 Replies Latest reply on Jun 8, 2015 1:15 AM by Peter Spier

Working on a Product Label Series

skywaystudios Level 1

Hi,

i'm used to designing for print in Illustrator.  But a recent project require a series of variations of the same artwork for different flavors.

I'm new to ID, but i think this is what people use this for, so i'm wondering what people;s workflows are for doing product lines.

1) do you use CSV with data merge to create different versions with the individual text for each label?

2) how do you deal with switching common design elements, such as background or logo, is there a way to create linked files like in PS / AI ?  

3) i've tried copy and pasting a group of vectors for a logo in AI, and when it imports in ID there are a lot of issues such as weird white shapes where there should be transparency.

4)is margin how people set up for bleed?

5) and last, most important, is there a way to export the multiple data merge functions similar to artboards in AI?  so i can export them all at once for print?

thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Working on a Product Label Series
          Michael Witherell Adobe Community Professional

1. I would make the different variations in different layers that you could turn on or off (if it is a small number of variations. Or use Master Pages for common elements and use different pages for differing design elements.

2. Again, Master Pages or Layers or Pages.

3. Try saving the logo in AI and placing (File > Place) a linked file into InDesign. Avoid copynpasting.

4. Bleed is setup in the Document Setup (File > Document Setup) and is quite similar between Illy and Indy.

5. Export to PDF

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Working on a Product Label Series
            skywaystudios Level 1

Thanks for your quick response.