4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 8, 2015 7:16 AM by Szalam

Green screen help needed!!!

mahervivie

I need to edit a video to look like this one using after effects. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=srUZopQ7UXQ

I was thinking of maybe inverting the green screen so the person is transparent, and then having a background video beneath that. I have no idea how to do this as I'm a beginner, any help or different ideas would be very much appreciated.

• 2. Re: Green screen help needed!!!
          mahervivie Level 1

i don't want to learn how to use the programme exstensively I'm only trying to do the one thing mentioned above for a school project, I was hoping for something specific.

• 3. Re: Green screen help needed!!!
            JohnyFive Level 2

Hi Mahervivie,

Just check out a tutorial online, like Motionsquared's tut: Advanced Keying Techniques in After Effects - Tutorial - YouTube

Make sure to set it to 32bit, AE is on 8bit on default. Go to Project panel...at the very bottom of that box, u will see  8bpc, click that and where it says depth, set it to 32, Keylight effect, which is found in Effect ---> Keying ---> Keylight...it's great for keying Hope that helps.

• 4. Re: Green screen help needed!!!
              Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

vivienne maher wrote:

i don't want to learn how to use the programme exstensively I'm only trying to do the one thing mentioned above for a school project, I was hoping for something specific.

The problem with AE is that it is a fairly complicated piece of software. In order to do "just one thing", you have to know a lot of other things. You may be able to follow a single tutorial like the one JohnyFive linked to, but you also might run into TONS of frustrations because AE is not as simple as you think.