8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 7, 2015 12:22 PM by A.T. Romano

format issue

thedinz

Hello, i cant get rid of the black bars.

The original video is a screencast at 1440X900.

When creating a new project none of the options have this, i can use 1440x1080 but the bars on the sides, if i interpret footage and change it to widescreen the video looks stretched and now there are black bars on the top and bottom.

I am a bit of a newbie i came over to premier from sony movie maker, most videos are fine but this screencast video is odd i guess because of my computer resolution.

The bars are driving me nuts and no settings seem to fix them, i have been googling up a storm before asking here but everything i have tried is not working.

• 1. Re: format issue
          A.T. Romano Level 7

thedinz

What version of Premiere Elements and on what computer operating system?

What is your intended export for the Timeline that has this content?

Typically video is 4:3 or 16:9. If you have 1440 x 900, that is neither. I think you know that already. More about the project preset next time.

For now I will assume you are using Premiere Elements 11, 12, or 13 on Windows 7, 8, or 8.1 64 bit.

If you let the project set the project preset automatically (open the project and use Add Media/Files and Folders/, you will end up with the default project preset of 1080i (1920 x 1080 16:9) and that type of project. The 1440 x 900 will look like this in the 1080i project.

13.JPG

Click on the Edit area monitor to bring up the image's bounding box. Then drag on the bottom right handle of the bounding box out to scale the image. Drag out only to the point where the black border are not seen. You will get a slight zoom in effect, but you should not get a stretched effect. This should be the result of this type of solution

13 2.jpg

Please review, consider, and give more details, so that I can customize the reply for your situation.

Thanks.

ATR

• 2. Re: format issue
            thedinz Level 1