8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 13, 2015 4:36 AM by rob day

Remove selected local overrides

skywaystudios

I'm new to ID, i'm trying to set up a product line series, one master product label, 5 children with different text / titles.  One issue i'm coming across is that editing the master layer (adding a new graphic element, changing graphic element size)

does not carry over, and  i haven't overridden any of the child pages except for text.

the only way i can "update" the file is to "apply master to page"  but that causes  the issue of either wiping out my override edits, or bringing in a duplicate text box from the master page.   what's the best work around to this?  i thought having filler text, and styles defined in the master template would make it easy, but it seems like it's not as straigthforward as i thought.

thanks in advance..

• 1. Re: Remove selected local overrides
          rob day Adobe Community Professional & MVP

One issue i'm coming across is that editing the master layer (adding a new graphic element, changing graphic element size)

It sounds like you only have one Layer for the document? If all of the master page items are on one layer and you release a text frame to edit, the frame will go to the top of the stacking order. There shouldn't be a problem with adding master page objects, but they could be behind you released text frame.

• 2. Re: Remove selected local overrides
            skywaystudios Level 1

i have 3 main layers - all art elements, all text frames, die cut line

yeah all the text box from the master is duplicAted and i have to delete every time. tedious.

ANy way to only update /apply  one element ? Say i  nudge a box or change its color. Or say i change font style but i dont want to replace the filler text in every text box again

• 3. Re: Remove selected local overrides

You should be able to do what you are describing. Here I have an MP spread with a text frame on layer 1 (Text) and 2 colored frames on layer 2 (Art):