9 Replies Latest reply on Oct 25, 2015 8:40 AM by Eclectic Taste

Import only  RAW with Lightroom CC

robertperrin25

Hi All,

I've unsuccessfully searched the forum for a way to only import RAW images from a memory card when I shoot RAW+JPG.  I'm new to Lightroom and so far the only way I've figured to do it is to separate the files before letting Lightroom convert them to DNG. Is there another way?

• 1. Re: Import only  RAW with Lightroom CC
          Chetna Srivastava Adobe Employee

Hi Robert,

In order to allow Lightroomt o detect only Raw files from Raw+Jpeg shoot is to go under Lightroom Preferences - General Tab and make sure that the tab "Treat jpeg files next to raw files as separate" is unchecked. Then, restart Lightroom and start the import.

Regards,

Chetna

• 2. Re: Import only  RAW with Lightroom CC
            robertperrin25 Level 1

Ok, I've done that, so now how do I group JPGs and RAWs together in the grid view so that I can easily uncheck them by group.  I thought that the sort:Media Type menu at the bottom of the import window would take care of that, but it didn't change the sorting and each RAW appeared next to it's corresponding JPG.

• 3. Re: Import only  RAW with Lightroom CC

Hi Robert,

If you will uncheck the option under Preferences that I mentioned, then Lightroom will not show you jpeg files in the Import dialog box.

It will show only Raw files in the import dialog box and will treat jpeg as a sidecar file.

• 4. Re: Import only  RAW with Lightroom CC
                robertperrin25 Level 1

Well that's a nice option, but my original question was how to import the RAW images without the JPG.  I don't need them as sidecars.  I don't need the JPG's anymore once I have access to a computer.  I know that I can manually separate the files once I'm on the PC and have only the RAW files there to import, it seems like a simple matter to include a drop down box or something that allows me to specify what I want to import.