33 Replies Latest reply on Jun 12, 2015 9:55 AM by rob day

Adding specific glyphs automatically in a document

scs38088219

Hi everyone,

I wondered whether you had a better idea to go about the following issue:

We have 15 pages of small type event listings (100s of them) and I would like to add a specific glyph (number in a circle) next to the venues. The text comes out of the database like this:

Eventname

Artist

Where,

13–17 Aug, £5

Which would be changed to

Eventname

Artist

(1) Where,

13–17 Aug, £5

So far I used the search & find method to placing a standard number next to the venue. And then as a second step using search & find Glyphs to replace the number with the specific number glyph.

Now I am wondering whether there is a better solution for doing this more quickly, given that there will be around 50 different venues. Or would the only way around this to use a script, which

I have never used before.

I would be grateful for advice.

Dirgis

Screen shot 2015-06-10 at 12.01.00.png

• 1. Re: Adding specific glyphs automatically in a document
          Chad Chelius Adobe Community Professional

It sounds like you've figured out the grep to insert the number at the appropriate location. You can speed this up by copying the glyph to the clipboard and then in the change expression, choose Clipboard Contents, Formatted from the Other submenu. Hopefully this will save you that second step as you describe above.

• 2. Re: Adding specific glyphs automatically in a document
            Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

I suspect you could also use a GREP style to automatically format the digits.

• 3. Re: Adding specific glyphs automatically in a document
              scs38088219 Level 1

Hi Chad,

not quite. My search is rather time consuming, looking for the venue name and then adding a number in front of it, see attached.

There will be also then 50 glyphs to be searched for. Does that mean there is no way around this?