1 Reply Latest reply on May 10, 2006 7:23 AM by Applied CD

Full screen movie

jpp01uk
      Hi Everyone, hoping someone can help me out. Im creating an E-Learning application based around video tutorials. The tutorials are in a small window based in the application. What I would like to do is allow the user to switch to full screen video if they wish, and then back again without the movie starting from the beginning.

Im new to director so not 100% on how to do it.

Thank you
        • 1. Re: Full screen movie
          Applied CD Level 1
          Here is something I wrote a few years ago. It will allow you to create a button to zoom a video sprite to full screen and use the ESC key to return to normal. Pressing the ESC key while in normal view will exit the projector. The video will scale to preserve the aspect ratio of the original sprite with black boarders filling the rest of the space (ie: the video will not distort) … I think Windows Media Player literally fills the screen with video which usually results in a distorted image. Known limitations: As written, these behaviors will always put the full screen video on the primary monitor when playing on a mutlimonitor system. This code has never been tested on a Mac but there’s nothing in it that shouldn’t work. My original scripts had some project specific code that I have tried to remove for this post, I apologize if I’ve left some garbage behind.

To start off with:
          1. Draw a black rectangle the same size as your stage. Make sure this rectangle is above all other sprites. Set the blend of this sprite to 0.
          2. Place your video sprite on top of this rectangle (the next higher channel ). The video sprite can be any size and location required by your layout.

Create the following movie script. Important – change the value of gVideoSprite to match the sprite number of your video:

on startMovie
          global gFullScreenMode
          global gVideoSprite
          global gVideoDurationSlop