12 Replies Latest reply on Jun 15, 2015 7:12 AM by ssprengel

Help!  LR softens the focus of my RAW images

deadeye ruck

I am trialing LR CC.  I am a complete newbie to LR.  I am shooting with a Nikon D610 in RAW (.NEF) format.  When I look at my images using windows picture viewer or nikon software they are razor sharp.  When I import them into LR in RAW format and view them both in the library and develop modules, they appear almost out of focus!  They appear very soft at the least!  If I slide the sharpen slider up to around 50 in the develop module they appear sharp again but it comes with noise which does not appear when viewing the image outside of LR.  I have searched around but haven't found a good solution.  Just for reference, I downloaded lightroom CC and have done nothing else to the program (no additional presets or anything).  Any ideas????? It's driving me crazy!

• 1. Re: Help!  LR softens the focus of my RAW images
          ManiacJoe Adobe Community Professional

Which Picture Controls are you using in the camera settings (vivid, standard, neutral, etc)?

Have you made any adjustments to them (added brightness, added sharpness, etc)?

The catch is that all that Picture Control data is proprietary info that only Nikon's software reads.

Windows Picture Viewer is probably displaying the JPG preview which has all that data baked into the picture.

Adobe and other third party raw converters ignore that proprietary data and may supply their own versions of those picture controls.

In LR's Develop module, Camera Calibration panel, you can pick some presets to start with. The default is "adobe standard" which is similar to -- but not the same as -- "camera standard".

I have my Nikon cameras set to the "neutral" Picture Control and use a LR preset during import to set the default state to "camera neutral" so that the image on the back of my camera and LR initial view look mostly the same.

• 2. Re: Help!  LR softens the focus of my RAW images