10 Replies Latest reply on Jun 25, 2015 8:22 AM by Rick Gerard

Flat Object Rotation

bstnsx704

Hello. I'm very new to After Effects and am trying to build up some assets for a video I am making for work. I built up my asset using some of the features in After Effects, but whenever I try to rotate it the object rotates along a seemingly three-dimensional line towards me diagonally, when all I need it to do is rotate in a flat circle along the background of my composition. I feel like this is probably a really easy fix, but for some reason I just cannot figure out how to get it to rotate the way I need it to.

Thank you very much in advance,

Tom

• 1. Re: Flat Object Rotation
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Sounds like you have a 3D layer. Rotation is always around the anchor point. You can select X, Y, or Z or Orientation if it is a 3D layer in the timeline view. You can also change how an image rotates (orientation or axis) in the tool bar. It just takes a bit of getting used to. ALSO, and this is important, only the Active Camera view renders in the final output. Make sure that you are basing your animations on the Active Camera view and not on any of the other views. They are only there for help in positioning elements.

• 2. Re: Flat Object Rotation
            bstnsx704 Level 1

Thank you very much for the response! I go into work again in the morning, so I will give all of this a try once I get there.

• 3. Re: Flat Object Rotation
              bstnsx704 Level 1

Unfortunately, it appears that my object was indeed a 2D layer. I changed it to a 3D layer and tried to rotate the Z-axis on its own, but wound up with the same result. I also double checked, and I am looking in active camera mode.

Where is this orientation/axis toolbar that you had mentioned?

Just for reference, this is what I'm working with:

Screen Shot 2015-06-25 at 10.09.47 AM.png