22 Replies Latest reply on Jun 23, 2015 1:23 PM by matija1492

Odd RAW corruption problem on master+backup hard drive

matija1492

Hello,

I’m a professional photographer and I have a confusing problem with corrupt photos. Even though this technically probably isn’t Lightroom problem, I could not think of a better place to ask and part of the question is related to Lightroom file handling. The problem coincided with upgrade to Lightroom CC 2015-1, but I can’t tell if it’s in any way connected.

In short, a month after downloading and processing a large amount of RAW CR2 photos, many of them have corrupted. I only learned this yesterday when I wanted to export them.

Corruption looks like this: http://www.justphotos.ca/errors/MEM404067.jpg

The photo is not mine, but the problem is similar. Part of the photo looks normal, and part is destroyed. Ratio varies.

I performed following diagnostics:

• CheckDisk from Windows Explorer, including a surface scan - no problem detected
      • inspecting SMART information from the hard drive (via Crystal Disk Info) - the drive checked out as “good”, with no parameter obviously alarming (although I’m no expert)
      • checked RAM with memtest86 - no errors
      • AVG virus and rootkit scan - nothing found
      • Explorer and Lightroom can normally manipulate the files (copy, read, even develop), it’s just that they’re corrupt

Most important question first: does anyone know what can cause this type of corruption and avoid detection by all of the above mentioned tests? What to do about it?

Presumably, if there was an issue with hard disk SATA cable or motherboard

— — — — — — — — — — — —

Here’s a bit more background where things get weirder and where someone with LR knowledge might come in handy.