15 Replies Latest reply on Jul 2, 2015 5:33 PM by MasterDomino

Forum for plugin development?

jan_ekholm

Is there a specific forum or place where plugin development is discussed? This forum seems to be mostly about using existing plugins.

What I'm trying to do is import about 10 years of photos into Lightroom from an old home grown photo management application. I can

export the data from that application into any form necessary, but need to write a small plugin to do the final import into Lightroom. My

plugin would not be of general interest, but I could publish it on, say, Github if someone is interested. I tried to look at the Aperture/iPhoto

import plugin for ideas, but all the Lua files are scrambled (wtf is up with that, why?) and pretty much useless to me.

I'm new to Lua and Lightroom plugins, but otherwise a fairly experienced software developer. I have the SDK v5.0 and all the docs, but

look for a place where I could get help with troubleshooting things.

• 1. Re: Forum for plugin development?
          Dave Merchant MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Moved to the Lightroom SDK forum

• 2. Re: Forum for plugin development?
            john beardsworth Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Look up the plugin LrTransporter.

• 3. Re: Forum for plugin development?
              jan_ekholm Level 1

Thanks, I knew there had to be a better place that the general forum.

• 4. Re: Forum for plugin development?
                jan_ekholm Level 1

Not sure that plugin does what I want. Seems to be about batch importing flat images into the main catalog? In my case I have a large hierarchy of what in LR will be collection sets and collections of photos and I want to import those too along with sometimes extensive descriptive meta data that does not really work in a CSV file.

• 5. Re: Forum for plugin development?
                  johnrellis Most Valuable Participant