7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 29, 2015 1:00 AM by RoninEdits

PC build for PrPro / DSLR 1080p

fox23_PDX

After several evenings of rigorous reading here, I think I am finally ready to poll the locals on a build.

Editing (mostly) single-video timelines for wedding videos in PremierePro using Canon DSLR 1080p footage. Not worried about transcode times, more prioritizing smooth playback (the wife and myself are both producers by trade and she gets fussy when something doesn't run like her workplace's RAID-ed Dual-Xeon Avid... and yes, I know...)

This machine will run a little PS, PrPro and Encoder for up to 30-minute projects. That's it. I'll build something that breathes fire later...

CPU: i7-5820

MB: MSI X99S SLI Plus

RAM: 32GB CORSAIR Vengeance DDR4 2400

OS SSD: Samsung 850 Pro

Media SSD: Samsung SM951 M.2 512GB

Case, Cooling and Power I haven't nailed down yet, but I'll do the appropriate solutions I've seen recommended here before.

My two main questions about components are:

(1) As I read about GPU loads on PrPro for the codec I'm going to work in, I start to feel like the GTX760 will be plenty and the 2GB/256-bit is a better choice over the GTX960 4GB/128-bit for our work. Is this correct? I don't really need to future-proof this box as I don't expect to soon (if ever) move to 4k or other format. If I do in some limited way, I'll address it in edit suite 2 when I build it next year or simply swap cards up w/ a CPU upgrade. I can budget the GTX970 if the performance improvement for what I'm doing is real, or if that's the place I really need to be, but from what I'm reading I don't think I need it. Of course I could be wrong. 

(2) (EDITED) More reading answered my original question on SSD. Now it's this: can I boot the OS on a Samsung SM951 M.2 128GB drive? Is 128GB enough for just the OS (Win8.1 or 10) and Adobe Cloud?

Thanks for any feedback or insight. I've tried to digest the volumes of valuable information here before spouting questions off.