9 Replies Latest reply on Jun 9, 2016 7:14 PM by Just Shoot Me

Removing JPG Sidecar Files

rklinge

I'm new to Lightroom, and just imported my first 700+ files into LR CC. My camera stored each photo in both RAW and JPG format, and without realizing it, when importing to Lightroom I imported all of the JPG's as sidecar files in addition to their associated RAW files. I'd like to remove all of these sidecar files, since the JPG's have no real use, and are each taking up an additional 10MB of hard drive space. Is there a way to do this? So far, I haven't found a solution.

(Note, I experimented with two photos, and deleted the JPG outside of Lightroom to see what happened. LR doesn't show an error, but still shows that the photo has a JPG sidecar file.)

• 1. Re: Removing JPG Sidecar Files
          Geoff the kiwi Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Ok, I think that you can do this: Check the "treat jpegs as separate files" check box in Preferences then synchronise the folder. Then you ought to see the jpegs then filter by file type, slecte them and Delete..

2 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Removing JPG Sidecar Files
            rklinge Level 1

Thanks, I see "treat jpgs as separate files" but this is under import. The photos are already imported. Is there another place to change this setting besides under import?

• 3. Re: Removing JPG Sidecar Files

As I said look in the Preferences:

Screen Shot 2015-06-27 at 10.43.10 pm.png

• 4. Re: Removing JPG Sidecar Files
                rklinge Level 1

Okay, I've got it. Even though I'm not re-importing, changing this setting in preferences under the "import options" and then synchronizing the folder doubled the count of photos in this folder, showing all the JPGs separately. I should be able to delete them all now that they're shown as unique files. Thank you very much for the assistance!! - Ron

• 5. Re: Removing JPG Sidecar Files
                  TheBobbyMiller Level 1