4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 5, 2015 9:05 PM by IdamIndia

UK FOGRA39 vs U.S. Web Coated Swap v2

MDFB

Hello everyone, I think I'm really close to understanding colour profiles and need a little more of your support in my conclusions.

Story in brief. I'm a Marketing Manager in the UK and have come into a role not knowing the values of the corporate blue. I finally contacted the litho print company who told me the values were:

C = 100

Y = 70

Y = 0

K = 10

So I set about creating a large number of illustrations but using CMYK Coated FOGRA39 (ISO 12647-2:2004) because, according to everything I've read, this is the correct profile setting for UK.

I then noticed there was a small colour variance compared with previous artwork..so I checked with the printer who looked up the profile and it was set a U.S. Web Coated Swap v2.

Now, I've asked the printer the following questions and he admitted that it's too complicated a question for him - and that he didn't know.

(A) Should I be using FOGRA39 (ISO 12647-2:2004) in the UK. From what I read this is 100% best practise in the UK because it is correct and most people mistakenly end up using US SWOP because it's default in the Adobe Suite.

(B) Here's what I did next. I created the blue 100,70,0,10 under U.S. Web Coated Swap v2, I then copied it into a FOGRA39 (ISO 12647-2:2004) profile document preserving colours and the resulting CMYK values were:

C = 100

M = 67

Y = 6

K = 0

So, it's my understanding that if I use FOGRA..then 100,67,6,0 will produce the same results compared to if I used SWOP...100,70,0,10.

Am I right? On screen the colours are indentical.

(C) A general question here re style guides. Am I right in saying that unless the colour values/numbers are supplied with the profile in which they were created  then it's impossible to know whether a colour will be correct or not.

I feel like I've come a long way on this...hopefully I'm bang on.

Many thanks,

Matthew.