22 Replies Latest reply on Jul 12, 2015 2:46 PM by fabioa15437023

Editing drone videos on a laptop... moving from iMovie to Elements 13

fabioa15437023

Hi All,

Complete beginner here. I have been shooting aerial footage with a drone and editing the outcome with iMovie on a Macbook Air. I need to switch to a regular Dell laptop now and I am in dire need of some professional advice.

The video I shoot has been 1080p, 50 fps (don't ask why 50fps, it just sounded better at the time). The drone can shoot 4K but when I tried to watch or edit that, it was awful. That was the first time I realized shooting in 4K sounds nice but who on earth can watch let alone edit 4K? Most of the files I shoot end up on Youtube anyway.

Getting back to my question, the resulting .mov files ran smoothly in iMovie and the saved files came out quite good. Mostly saved in smaller size files. Like I would shoot about 10 gigs of footage, cut, edit, down to 2-3 gig and iMovie could save it as a smaller file, like 3-400 megs that could be uploaded to youtube in "HD". Perfect for an unprofessional like me.

Now I am on a Dell Laptop with Elements 13.1 (on Windows 7). I was eager to start with Elements until I imported the first .mov. It looked horrible and played back horrible, choppy, jerky, etc. Impossible to edit. The raw footage plays perfectly in VLC player on this laptop by the way.

My laptop is Intel Core i3 CPU, M350 @ 2.27GHz, 6 GB RAM. And a nice display. No clue about the video card or if it has any.

Now my question is how would you do it? What would you do with the files so thay are editable in Elements?

Really appreciate any advice (other than get some better gear).

Have a nice day, folks.

• 1. Re: Editing drone videos on a laptop... moving from iMovie to Elements 13
          A.T. Romano Level 7

fabioa

Let us begin

Your Premiere Elements 13 is on Windows 7 64 bit. Have you updated 13 to 13.1 using an opened project's Help Menu/Updates? If not, please do that.