16 Replies Latest reply on Feb 23, 2018 8:35 AM by Abambo

Catalog "Too New" to be opened by 5.7.1 error - HELP!

sturae

Last week i did some lightroom edits - it looks like it has saved them into a new catalog (the default one was called Lightroom 5 Catalog, this one is just called Lightroom Catalog).  I can't open the catalog without the "5" in it - it tells me "The Lightroom catalog named “Lightroom Catalog” cannot be opened because it is too new to be used by this version of Lightroom."  Help - i've lost an entire days editing!  Any ideas (I am new to Lightroom, and may have made a silly mistake somewhere...)  I am running 5.7.1.

Cheers,

STuart

• 1. Re: Catalog "Too New" to be opened by 5.7.1 error - HELP!
          JoeKostoss Adobe Community Professional

Lightroom Catalog was created by LR 6/CC.  Did you download a trial version of LR6/CC?

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Catalog "Too New" to be opened by 5.7.1 error - HELP!
            Just Shoot Me Adobe Community Professional

You have upgraded to LR CC/6 on one of your systems, maybe even on your only system, and that has converted the LR 5 catalog to a LR cc/6 catalog. Which can only be opened, accessed, from LR CC/6. It is not backward compatible.

So you will either need to upgrade all your systems to LR CC/6 or use LR CC/6 on your only system.

You can still access the LR 5 catalog from LR 5 as the conversion to a LR CC/6 catalog did not remove or convert the original LR 5 catalog. LR CC/6 made a copy of the LR 5 catalog and converted that.

• 3. Re: Catalog "Too New" to be opened by 5.7.1 error - HELP!
              sturae Level 1

Thanks folks - that'll be it!  2 versions of lightroom on my machine, and the link to old version in the dock.  Saved me a good bit of heartache!

Cheers,

Stuart

• 4. Re: Catalog "Too New" to be opened by 5.7.1 error - HELP!
                Christian Trollo

I have the same problem and I have never had LR 6 installed...