6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 20, 2006 5:40 PM by Dan Bracuk

Textarea when Radio Button Clicked Yes

smogcity2000
      I'm trying to add a textarea for a gift message if the users clicks the "Yes" radio button. The characters have to be limited to 150. I'm not a programmer and know very, very, little coldfusion. The message in the textarea will be stored in a pre-existing DB column.

Any help with this is greatly appreciated.
        • 1. Re: Textarea when Radio Button Clicked Yes
          Charlie Griefer Level 1
          <input type="radio" name="giftMessage" value="1" onclick="textAreaShow('inline');" />Yes
          <input type="radio" name="giftMessage" value="0" onclick="textAreaShow('none');" />No

<textarea name="giftMessageText" id="giftMessageText"></textarea>

<script type="text/javascript">
          function textAreaShow(onOff) {
          document.getElementById('giftMessageText').style.display = onoff;
          }
          </script>

for the text limit, that's a little tougher. textareas do not have the builtin maxlength attribute that text inputs have. there are javascripts you can use that will fire on the onkeyup event of the textarea counting the characters, but i personally don't care for those.

i'd suggest on the submit action of the form, check the textarea.value length using JS and if it exceeds 150 characters, don't submit the form and alert the user. in addition, DEFINITELY check on the form's action page using CF to ensure that the length of the value passed is less than 150 (and if not, handle appropriately).
          • 2. Re: Textarea when Radio Button Clicked Yes
            smogcity2000 Level 1
            I just tried the code you provided and I don't think it works correctly.
            1. The textarea appears when page is loaded even when no button is checked.
            2. Nothing happens when either buttons are checked.