8 Replies Latest reply on Jul 11, 2015 7:23 AM by A.T. Romano

Help, help help Premiere Elements

computer tadpole

Hi,

I'm new here and am working in Premiere Elements 11 (on Windows 7).  Putting together a movie in PE11 using 1000+ slides, and about 150 video clips that range in length from 10 seconds to 60 seconds, which will be interspersed throughout the slide show movie.  There's also audio music and narration talking.  I've spent close to 300 hours "editing" working on each slidef (I haven't really kept track of hours, but been working on it for three months evenings and weekends), perfecting each clip by enhancing with multiple effects from zoom and pan to spin out, varying durations, etc., and sometimes with multiple layers of slides and videos occurring simultaneously.  Really a pretty impressive little production for a neophyte, who bit off quite a  bit more than I can chew........but here's the real problem....

I'm brand new to the 21st century and the digital world and any type of video editing, so I'm having a great time learning as I go, creating a show that makes me look much more talented than I am....and I do love that.   But, because I am new to all of this, and not that terribly computer literate (I'm 54 years old and never really use more than emails and internet, Word and Excel, etc.),    Don't laugh, but I really didn't have a clue (because I didn't even think about it)  that when I dragged a picture or video from my Windows Explorer into Premiere Elements 11 "Project Assets", to use in the show, that it simply created a shortcut (and only a shortcut) to the source from which I just dragged the file, and was not a complete copy of the file (picture or video clip).